Frequently Asked Questions
What are the Continuing Education requirements for renewal of an Arizona Real Estate License?
For Salespersons and Associate Brokers
To apply for license renewal, a real estate salesperson or an associate broker must complete twenty-four (24) credit hours, to include a minimum of three hours in each of six mandatory categories. The mandatory categories are:
• Agency Law (AL)
• Contract Law (CL)
• Commissioner's Standards (CS)
• Disclosure (D)
• Fair Housing (FH)
• Real Estate Legal Issues (L)
Additional credit hours, to bring the total to 24, may be in the mandatory categories, or the Business Brokerage (BB) or General (G) Real Estate categories.
For Designated or Self-Employed Brokers
Effective on and after January 1, 2013, at least 9 hours of credit in the Commissioner’s Standards category must be of the Broker Management Clinic (consisting of Broker Management Clinic course #1, #2, and #3) if you are an active status designated broker (which includes self-employed brokers) or delegated associate broker with written authorization to act on behalf of the designated broker by reviewing and initialing contracts and similar instruments pursuant to A.R.S 32-2151.01 (G).
NOTICE: For First-Time Renewals of a Salesperson's or Broker's License
A salesperson renewing for the first time may include credit for attendance at a Contract Writing ("Boot Camp") class if it was taken within one year before the date of licensure.
A designated or self-employed broker renewing for the first time may include credit for attendance at a Broker Management Clinic taken before the broker's original licensure date.
NOTICE: Arizona Department of Real Estate will only permit a maximum of 9 hours of credit to be completed in 1 day.
How long is the licensure period?
Original salesperson's and original broker's licenses are issued for two years. Although licenses will be subsequently renewed for four years, the educational requirements listed above must be satisfied every two years. A licensee may NOT wait until the end of a four-year period and take 48 hours of continuing education then. A licensee in their grace period may not do any real estate activities until their license is renewed and activated.
When must courses be taken?
Courses must be taken within the license period (or during the grace period if you're renewing late).
Example: Original License date 3/15/2005, CE classes can be taken 3/15/2005 through 3/31/2007 (or through 3/31/2008 if renewing by end of grace year). If the renewal is filed 3/15/2007, you may begin taking classes toward your 2009 educational requirements on 4/1/2007 and later, within the new educational period.
Who do I contact if I have questions about my CE requirements?
Arizona Department of Real Estate
2910 N. 44th Street
Phoenix, AZ, 85018
What is required to complete the course?
You must review all of the course content and pass the final exam with a score of 80%.
Can I print any of the course material for future reference?
No. The course is entirely online, so you are unable to print any course materials.
How long will it take me to complete a course?
Each course has been approved for a specific number of hours. Depending on the pace you review the course, it may take you less or more time to complete the course.
How long do I have access to the course?
You have access to the course for up to six months from purchase.
How do I receive my course completion certificate and how do my hours get submitted for CE credit?
Once you complete a course, you are able to print your course completion certificate. To receive CE credit, you are responsible for submitting the proper documentation when you renew.
Can I take the course from various locations and computers?
The courses are set up for students to access from any computer that is compatible with the requirements below. We recommend using a faster system and faster internet connection. Here are the requirements:
• IBM PC Compatible Computer (500 MHz processor with 256MB RAM)
• Sound Card with speakers or headphones
• Video Capabilities
• Microsoft Windows 98/2000/XP
• Internet connection (high speed connection)
• Microsoft Internet Explorer version 6.0 SP1 or greater – If you have already installed a later version (e.g. IE7), you may experience problems with links in the course. Call technical support at the number listed for technical issues (below) for assistance.
• Adobe Flash Player (Click here to download)
What happens once I register for the course?
You will receive an email confirmation for your records. You may then immediately begin the course.
How do I get a username and password? What do I use it for? What should I do if I forget it?
During the registration process, you select your own username and password. It should be something that you can easily remember. You will use the same username and password each time you log in to access your course(s). This information is entered in the returning students section on the home page of the website. If you forget your username and password, you can either email firstname.lastname@example.org or call 1-866-455-3278.
Who administers the course?
The course is provided through Arizona School of Real Estate & Business in partnership with a third-party provider.
What do I do if I have technical issues?
Call the support line at 866-455-3278 – Monday through Friday 9:00 AM. to 7:00 PM. and Saturday from 10:00 AM to 3:00 PM. EST.
What do I do if I have other questions?
Call Arizona School of Real Estate & Business at 480-946-5388 - Monday through Friday 9:00 AM. to 5:00 PM. MST.
What is your refund policy?
A refund may be requested for courses that have been purchased but not accessed within three months of the purchase date. Refunds involving unaccessed courses that are part of a package will be handled as follows: if the entire package is not taken as distance learning, the price of all classes that were originally part of that package (including those that were previously completed) will be recalculated at an individual class rate. In other words, a student will lose the package discount on all classes intended to be part of the package if the student does not take all of the classes in the package.
Example: You purchase a 24-hour package at $165, but only take 18 hours, and request a refund on the remaining two 3-hour classes. At $25 per class multiplied by the 6 classes you took, the per class cost of the classes you took equals $150. You would be eligible for a $15 refund ($165 - $150 = $15) for unaccessed classes if no more than 3 months has passed since paying for the package.
Courses that have been accessed or that have been partially-completed are not eligible for refunds or monetary credit. No refunds or credit will be given for any classes not completed within the allotted three-month time period. This refund policy is subject to change without advance notice.
How does the course work?
You may take the course at your own pace and on your own time. You may take the course in increments or all at once. If you exit out of the course, then log back in at a later time, you will start back in the lesson that you previously had been taking.